Quirks

Everyone has them. I know it, you know it. Something every person does will get on someone else’s nerves.

I have a problem with patience, so I have this quirk where I will start finishing other people’s sentences.  It’s partly because I have ADD and a million and ten things going on in the three ring circus that is my brain 99% of the time.  And it drives the mister nutty.

One of his quirks, is playing music full tilt, full volume,  full blast.  Personally, I appreciate my hearing a little more, and like a nice medium volume — loud enough to hear all of the vocals and instrumentation in a beautiful harmony but without risking permanent hearing damage or noise ordinance violations. (Mind you in a vehicle setting I’m pretty much the same way, I like to have the ability to blast it out, but don’t feel the need to have an acoustical pissing match with the guy in the lane next to me.)

So, at some point either he’s going to need a sound-proof man cave or I’m just going to need better ear plugs and insulation between the various rooms in the house.

One of my other quirks is also one of my better qualities — my creativity.  The problem with that is, again, the ADD gets in the way and while my creative chaos is organized to my satisfaction, it’s not necessarily the case for anyone living with me.  I’m just hoping to get it a little more under control, because I can see it rubbing off on the princess.  (Though my mom says it’s just that curse all mothers wish on their children — that the kids are just like them.)  Princess is my mini-me, that’s her quirk too.  All the creativity and chaos, paired with a double-helping of hardheadedness.

But … there’s a lot of stuff I wouldn’t have gotten through without either stubbornness or creativity.  It’s our quirks that make us who we are, and help us overcome what challenges are tossed in our path.

Categories: Mommy Mondays | Tags: , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Quirks

  1. Oh, I hear you on this one. Completely.

  2. Nicole Knott

    I have many quirks! One thing my hubby does is after brushing his teeth, he puts the toothbrush back on top of the holder WET! it gets MY toothbrush all wet and irritates the sh– out of me!! I’m sure he has quirks about me as well.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

The Adventures of Fanny P.

...because life is just one big adventure...

Given Breath

"In his hand is the life of every creature and the breath of all mankind."

The Monster in Your Closet

. . . is quite friendly, actually!

Gabriel Lucatero

Official Site of a Hardly-known Writer

Poor as Folk

A resource for people who need to feed themselves and live with little money. Also examining the political & social climate regarding poverty and hunger

Pinwheels and Poppies

Life and stuff.

Arcadia Pod

100% Nerd Stuff

The Blog of Funny Names

Celebrating Great People With Greater Names.

My Own Little Asylum

I'll rant if I want to- call me crazy

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Speak Happiness

Learning to be Fluent in Happiness & Success

