Optimism

Some days I’m a sarcastic, cynical, jaded individual.  I’ve seen a lot of the worst of humanity, and it can wear you down pretty quickly.  (See my Justice & Karma blog for some details.)

But other days, there are some days where faith in humanity is restored, where I’m optimistic that my girls will grow up in a world with less hate, less venom, less bias.  More basic kindness, respect, and strength.

I find myself turning into a bit of a Pollyana during those times, finding the bright side of things, in the worst of circumstances.  (For those of you of a certain age, or with parents of a certain age, back in the days Disney had Sunday Night Movies and there was no cable and only three channels, you probably saw the movie.)

ImageThat said, the actions in the aftermath of Monday’s bombing in the Boston Marathon finish line viewing, are some of those little optimistic moments.

I’ve got friends and family who are in the Boston area.  Somehow my branch of Irish Catholic missed it, but there was a commentator today who said Boston knows how to do three things best – sports, politics, and revenge.  That even Yankees put aside their rivalry (as the Sox did after 9-11) to honor the city was a shock, leaving me awed.  Watching clips of the Bruins’ national anthem before the game yesterday was chilling — in a good way.

Watching runners and first responders, volunteers and medical personnel on site as events unfolded.  Literally using the shirts on their backs to administer first aid.  The Pollyana in me thinks of how awesome it was that if the bombs had to go off, they went off there and not anywhere else on that stretch  — where the greatest number of medics, ambulances, and others could be of immediate help.  I shudder to think of how high the casualty count could’ve been elsewhere on the course.  The proximity to hospitals with trained trauma teams was another blessing.  Runners completing the course, then going further to the closest hospital to try to donate blood.  Outpouring of donations to the OneFundBoston.org to help cover needs of the victims.

Of course, that it happened at all is disheartening — that there’s still so much evil out there. But only light will get rid of the darkness.  And I’ve shared a few reblogs and memes on my facebook page about my optimism, that as a nation and human beings, we’re better, smarter, and stronger than a rat-bastard bomber.

 

 

Categories: In all seriousness | Tags: , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Optimism

  1. Optimism was my topic for O as well. Some days are easier to fulfill this virtue than others. We just have to continue trying.

  2. I loved reading this. I too found myself looking for the good in the bombing of Boston. I don’t have any family there but I still felt very emotional about it. The more I’ve read about the kindness of all those around, the more my heart lightens.

    Have fun with the rest of a-z. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

The Adventures of Fanny P.

...because life is just one big adventure...

Given Breath

"In his hand is the life of every creature and the breath of all mankind."

The Monster in Your Closet

. . . is quite friendly, actually!

Gabriel Lucatero

Official Site of a Hardly-known Writer

Poor as Folk

A resource for people who need to feed themselves and live with little money. Also examining the political & social climate regarding poverty and hunger

Pinwheels and Poppies

Life and stuff.

Arcadia Pod

100% Nerd Stuff

The Blog of Funny Names

Celebrating Great People With Greater Names.

My Own Little Asylum

I'll rant if I want to- call me crazy

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Speak Happiness

Learning to be Fluent in Happiness & Success

