When to introduce kids to Sci-Fi Classics

Welcome to Nerdsday . Yeah, bad pun involving Thursdays and nerddom.  If you read my blogs regularly, you’ll learn soon that I’m a sucker for a pun.

Anywho …

I have always been a fan of science fiction and fantasy.  The first movie I remember seeing in the theater was the original “Star Wars”, during it’s original theatrical run. (Don’t do the math, please.)  I watched Buck Rodgers with my dad. Some of the first “big girl” books I read were “The Hobbit,” “Wrinkle In Time,” and “The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe.”

Though I’m “old” for the series, I read with my step-daughter (same time, because I wanted to know what she was reading) the Harry Potter, and Twilight series.  God help me but I made it through Twilight.

I’ve never been a gung-ho super fan of any sci fi series on television or film, per se, but I have found that I gravitate towards those sorts of shows.  Somehow I missed Firefly, a sin, as I have a “pass” for Nathan Fillion. Oh my yummy.  I fell in love with him on Castle. (A writer working with cops? I mean come on, that’s my other type of favorite procedural).  I caught the references in Castle to Firefly, and had to DVR the entire Firefly season to “understand” and watch ad nauseum. (No such thing as too much Capt. Tightpants.)

Sometime in the 80s, I remember catching a couple episodes of Doctor Who, the one with the funky multi-colored scarf. My dad tried to explain the premise and I sort of got it, was in that age group we call “tweens” today.  Fast-forward to October.  After seeing a million and ten references to The Doctor on Pinterest I decided to figure out what the fuss was about.

Watched “Rose,” and liked it. Started at the beginning – well the current beginning as it were. Watched the next couple episodes and I was hooked. I’d watch them from DVR when I was up all night with the pumpkin (now four months old), and I’m now caught up through Vincent.  I will be caught up by March 30, but I digress.

During one of the episodes recently, the princess (my four year old) came in while I was watching, and said, out of the blue “I’m going to marry that cute boy one day.”

I told her she wasn’t allowed to get married until she’s a grown up and as old as mommy.

But the conversation led me to wonder – is she too young for The Doctor?  What about Star Wars?  Firefly is too grown up, but she’s seen a few older Star Trek’s with the Mister.

Right now her favorite toys are Legos, Dinosaurs, and My Little Pony.  In the grand scheme of things, she’d rather build her ponies and dinosaurs houses and boats, than play with her zoo of stuffed animals.

In a world where female “role models” are usually defined by their measurements and not their IQ, I want her to grow up and know she can be anything she wants, go anywhere, and do anything. I want her to be into science and magic, not limited by stereotypes. I think we’re off to a good start. The world needs more Hermionies and less Bellas, no?

Image

Categories: Nerdsdays | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

The Adventures of Fanny P.

...because life is just one big adventure...

Given Breath

"In his hand is the life of every creature and the breath of all mankind."

The Monster in Your Closet

. . . is quite friendly, actually!

Gabriel Lucatero

Official Site of a Hardly-known Writer

Poor as Folk

A resource for people who need to feed themselves and live with little money. Also examining the political & social climate regarding poverty and hunger

Pinwheels and Poppies

Life and stuff.

Arcadia Pod

100% Nerd Stuff

The Blog of Funny Names

Celebrating Great People With Greater Names.

My Own Little Asylum

I'll rant if I want to- call me crazy

The Art Studio by Mark Moore

Where Imagination Becomes Realality

Speak Happiness

Learning to be Fluent in Happiness & Success

